GO!

Cat food budget decisions...

Discuss ways to improve the quality of your cat's life and longevity through proper nutrition; a place for all of your questions and answers about feeding your kitty!

Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times. Non-informative posts criticizing a particular brand or another poster's choice of food are not allowed in this Forum. References to any brand of food as "junk," "garbage," or other harsh names will be removed.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Brody

Purred: Sat Apr 25, '09 7:36pm PST 
Hi everyone,

I was wondering what people would do in my situation. I'm a college student with two part-time jobs, financing my university education (housing too) all on my own, and I send money back home each month for my mom. OK on to the cat stuff...

I would love to feed Brody an all wet diet but that is not within the means of my current budget. I currently feed him Evo Ancestral Diet twice a day, but I replace four usually dry meals a week with a high protein, grain-free wet food (so I go through 2 cans of wet a week). So Brody gets fed twice a day, 4 out of his 14 weekly meals are wet. I usually buy Evo 95 or Best Feline Friends. He also gets treats a few times a week as well.

I could afford to feed Brody more wet but it would be a lesser quality wet food with grains and fillers, etc. So should I continue to feed him a higher quality wet only a few times or switch to a lower quality wet so he can enjoy the benefits of wet more frequently? I guess I'm worried about dehydration and kidney stones forming. My sister had a cat suffer through urinary crystals and the operation to fix it cost $3000, not to mention that the cat endured a lot of pain. I do have a bowl of water in every room of my apartment (living room, kitchen, and bedroom). I do see Brody drink at least twice a day from these watering holes.